Wordless Wednesday-ish: The Black Balloon

I was going to write this long review for this fantastic movie, but then I remembered I’m not a movie critic.  I think the trailer will speak for itself.

The Black Balloon.

Let me just say, this movie is the most accurate and heartfelt portrayal of Autism I have seen so far.  Or, maybe I should say this is what Autism looks like in my house.  (If you have Netflix, you can stream it from there.)

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I had never heard of this movie before but just watching the trailer brought tears to my eyes. I better have a big box of Kleenex if I ever get the chance to see it. 💗

    Reply
    • You will definitely need a box of tissue nearby for this movie, but there are also a few good laughs as well. I cannot get over the simplicity and truth of this movie.

      Reply
  2. Thanks so much for sharing this. I am looking forward to watching this and getting a glimpse of what Autism is like in your home. Netflix is slowly helping me catch up with all the media I’ve been missing.

    Reply
    • I should probably mention it is somewhat less dramatic in our house. Joel has yet to throw a stool through a kitchen window, but meltdowns are not pleasant. I love Netflix and am so greatful I stumbled across this one. I’d love to hear your reaction to this movie when you watch it.

      Reply
  3. This is a great film which I reviewed on my blog back in 2009. See: http://life-with-aspergers.blogspot.com.au/2009/11/movie-review-black-balloon.html.

    I’m glad you liked it.

    Reply
    • Now I’m really glad I didn’t review the movie. I think your review was quite succinct and was basically what I was trying to say. Luke Ford blew me away as Charlie and I also really connected to Toni Collette’s character. Wonderful performances all around.

      Reply
  4. I haven’t heard of that one. I need to see how I can get a copy of it.

    Reply
  5. I want to watch this, but at the same time I’m scared to! I try not to feel feelings too much!

    Reply
  6. Never fear, not all of the emotions are sad ones. There are some humorous moments as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

