You May Say I’m a Dreamer…

Yes it’s my birthday. I’m 19 years old again. Enough discussion about that. I’m sitting here with a guitar strapped around my neck and Joely is bowing the strings with a piece of uncooked spaghetti. I think this could be the beginning of a new fad in music. I mean if some of the current acts out there can make it with what they are doing then we surely have a chance.

The other night I was on my way home from work and the family called and stated very boldly that they wanted cheeseburgers and chocolate shakes. I’m not not a brave enough man to say no to this and expect to make it through the front door unscathed, so I complied and headed to the nearest Braums. Later on we all had put a fairly good sized dent in the meal when joel shoved his plate away, which had most of the cheeseburger and fries left on it, and walked away from the table with his chocolate shake. You know it’s strange how temperamental he is about ice cream. I’ve never known a kid to turn down ice cream, but he’s done it before. This time not so much. No big deal, he ate some of his food and that’s got to be worth something. Soon I finish my meal and announce that I’m retiring to the living room to start a meaningful relationship with my recliner for the night and watch a Community on Netflix. And everyone else leaves the table in a few minutes. Joel gets a bath and heads to bed, Shell retires to the Bedroom to read. I hear something eating in the kitchen, more like inhaling food. Before I can get up the dog comes trotting through the living room, burps and glances at me like a teenager who’s an hour late for curfew. Awesome, Jack just ate Joel’s hamburger from the table.

Boy he’s really interested in these guitar strings.

Moving on to something more recent., for those parents out there with a non-verbal child. I’ll bet it’s happened to at least a few of you where you dream that your child is speaking to you. I had a dream that we were watching a National Geographic type show where they were doing something with Lions. Maybe hunting, maybe not. There was definitely a gun involved, and a Lion of course. And all of the family was present. One of the Lions got shot and Joel professed “DOooon’t shoooot the DOoooOOG!” And of course you think, him being non verbal, it would surprise me that he’s making a statement at all. That’s not what I notice in the dream, I notice that he’s mistaking the lion for a dog. In the dream I look past the verbalization of something offensive to Joel and address the fact that he’s overgeneralizing. Interesting, huh?

I’m hopeful that Joel will speak someday, but I’ll be extremely satisfied if he can just communicate with us. I think with as many sounds as he makes though someday we will see, excuse me, hear him speak. We all believe that he has vocalized in certain situations, outside of his meltdowns. Like when he’s excited about going somewhere, or when he really wants a bowl of cereal. Both Shell and Joel’s para swear up and down that he’s told them to “go”. I’d take that, outside of my dreams.

Now if you all will excuse me, we have a concerto to write. I think we’ll call it “Spaghetti on six strings in g minor.”

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

