Hi I’m James. …

I’m the other half of this parenting team. I’m 37 years old. I work as a scrub tech at a local hospital and I’m a full time student. Now that we’ve been properly introduced let’s get to the important stuff.

So I woke up at about 0600. Since I work the weekends there are a couple of days that I really don’t have a routine. I’m on top of my school stuff so some mornings I just get up and wander around the house. At 0645 I heard Joel moving around so I got him up for a pull up change and as soon as I was done with that he wanted to cuddle. I picked him up and we moved to my chair and this kid fell asleep for a good 2 hours. The reason I’m bringing this up is because Joel is a rather wiggly little boy. The majority of the time he’s really resistant to staying in one spot for any prolonged period of time. So when he does something like this I really enjoy it. Other that that we’ve had a pretty good day mostly consisting of getting ready for family on the 4th.

So I think we’re going to try potty training. If anyone has tips and tricks for potty training a 5 year old, non-verbal kid with autism please feel free to share. For now were just taking him periodically and sitting him on the pot. We will see how this goes.

Oh and some really cool news from a friend at work. This friends daughter races dirt bikes avidly and is joining a team called teamautism. She wants Joel to be her “riding buddy” and he will be displayed on her bike as such. We’re pretty excited.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

